About Baksa

Baksa district was curved out of a part of Nalbari, Barpeta, Kamrup and small portion of Darrang district. As a result of historic BTC(Bodoland Territorial Council) accord signed on February 10, 2003,(see Notification) formed BTAD(Bodoland Territorial Autonomous Districts) with four districts namely Kokrajhar, Chirang, Baksa and Udalguri. Though the original word 'Baksa' is not above controversy, a good chunk of population prefer to use 'Bagsa' in lieu of 'Baksa'. The popular assumption that 'Baksa' is the misspelt form of 'Bangsa'--a 'Dzonkha' word meaning a farm house and a corridor as it is known that Bhutanese king and subjects used this area for trade and passage to the plains. 'Bangsa' (Bagsa or Baksa) was in fact one of the most important 'Dooars' of Bhutan. Now the name Baksa is officially taken and used.
read more>>